The very tip of a continent

We are here in South Africa on Sunday night November 13.  It was a really long plane ride and I am glad to be checked into our hotel, had dinner and we are going to try to sleep now so we can adjust to the 8 hour time difference.  Even though it is only Sunday afternoon in Virginia I think I am tired enough to go to sleep.  I look forward to logging on tomorrow to show you what it looks like here.

South Africa is very far south of the equator at the southern tip of the continent of Africa.  It is bordered by the countries Namibia, Botswana, and Zimbabwe to the north and Mozambique and Swaziland to the east.  Lesotho is an enclave surrounded by South Africa.  It is like a country inside a country.

Do you know how to use your computer to find a map of South Africa or the entire continent of Africa?  Remember that the name South Africa is a country name as well as a location name.  It is confusing because the continent is also called Africa.

I use an iPad which I really like and since that is what I am taking with me to S. Africa I hope I can easily add to the blog using that device instead of a laptop or desktop computer.  It is much smaller and will be easier to carry.  On the iPad I have several apps or applications which include maps.  One is GoogleEarth and the other is called Living Earth HD.  I really like the Living Earth HD app because it shows me what the earth looks like right now from weather satellites.  I can see where on the earth it is dark or light, what the weather report is, and it also has a world clock which tells you the correct time in any location and an alarm clock feature!  You can even see the places in the earth where there is a lot of light pollution, look at cloud formations and storms or make the earth spin in different directions!  It is not a free app but if you like to look at the earth and have an iPhone or iPad you might want to check out Living Earth HD.

South Africa is only 2500 miles or 4000 km from Antarctica.  For centuries ships sailing from Europe to Asia and Australia had to go around the very tip of South Africa between the two continents of Africa and Antarctica.  This cape, which is in South Africa is called The Cape of  Good Hope.  Can you find the Cape of Good Hope on a map you think is accurate?  Can you find a map of the Cape of Good Hope on a map you think may not be accurate?  Why do you think it isn’t accurate?

One response »

  1. I have shared with my friends how you are on this trip and using this to help educate the kids from there. What a fabulous leaning tool. Have fun and I am looking forward to hearing more!

Leave a Reply

