The Tropic of Capricorn

Along the drive between Punda Maria and Letaba we crossed The Tropic of Capricorn.  You were allowed to get out of your vehicle “at your own risk”.  I felt a certain unease doing this as we were on a road where, during our drive, we had seen dozens of wild animals.  I felt like a lion might be hiding behind any tree or rock, so I kept the car door open so I could get back in quickly.  Bob insisted on walking on the entire line across the parking area and the main road to stand by the sign pointing to the turn off.  As a geographer and cartographer that was important to him.  I said OK, only if he went quickly.  One thing I really did want to do was to walk on the line marking the Tropic of Capricorn.  I wanted to do this because my friend, Renae Dunn, and I had walked on the Equator like this back in 1993.  Somewhere I have a picture, but it is a print as that was not the era of digital images.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One response »

Leave a Reply

