Homework gone awry

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am taking a photography class on Composition and Creativity in the hopes of getting some better pictures and to learn how to use my camera more effectively.  In class last week we covered some simple design concepts like framing a photo, positioning the subject, the rule of thirds, and taking photos from different perspectives.

Since Saturday was a lovely weather day with highs in the mid-50s, Bob and I decided to drive down to The National Mall to take in the orchid exhibit which opened Friday at the US Botanical Garden. One of the perks he gets for being a volunteer at the Udvar Hazy Air and Space Museum in Chantilly is free parking on weekends under the Air and Space Museum downtown.

With my SLR camera and my point and shoot in-hand along with an extra battery I was confident I could get some good pictures at the Air and Space, walking past the American Indian Museum and the Capitol Building on the walk to the Botanical Garden.  Little did I know that all three batteries I had with me had little charge and I would be able to eek out only a few photos!  ugh!  That left me resorting to using my iPhone.

Leave a Reply

