Hogwart’s letter in the mail?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Yesterday Bob and I went to Cub Run Recreation Center in Centreville VA because I had heard that a mother Great Horned Owl had two owlets in a nest there.  I expected that we may have a chance to see them but had no idea how easy that would be.

They are clearly visible from the path right next to the Rec. Center looking over the Westfield High School football field with the noise of the airplanes taking off from Dulles overhead.  I was amazed that such a majestic animal would be in what I considered so open a space.  The mother is no longer in the nest with them but I suspect she wasn’t too far away even though I never saw her.  They were beginning to flap their wings some but not to really fledge yet.

I am thrilled that these types of animals make Fairfax County home.

Here are a few pictures we took with the lens we bought to take with us to Africa.

One response »

Leave a Reply

